At the end of 2013 the Slovene National Committee of the ICOM included 135 members. It is one of the 117 ICOM national committees scattered across the world. It was established in 1991 and in Slovene law has the status of a society. Since its founding it has continually worked in accordance with the guidelines of the umbrella organisation in Paris. Its first president was Gregor Moder, the then director of Ljubljana’s City Museum, who served two terms (1991-1997) and who in 2005 was recognised for his services by being named as the first honorary member of the Slovene ICOM. He was succeeded by Ralf Čeplak Mencin, a museum advisor from the Slovene Ethnographic Museum, who also served two terms (1997-2003). In December 2003 he was succeeded by the deputy director of the Slovene Ethnographic Museum, Nina Zdravič Polič, who was in turn succeeded by Tanja Roženbergar, the director of the Celje Museum of Recent History. The Slovene ICOM thus acquired a new leadership for the period 2011-2013 and a new seat in Celje. 

Sources of finance: the Ministry of Culture and 18% of the annual membership fees. In line with the rules, the remainder of membership fees are channelled (by April) each year to the ICOM headquarters in Paris.

The duties of the Slovene National Committee of the ICOM are: informing Slovene museum professionals about international events in the museum and museological fields; the exchange of information and cooperation with the ICOM in Paris; implementation of the ICOM Code of Professional Ethics; the annual organisation of events on International Museum Day, which takes place in May and covers a particular theme; and the organisation of annual international conferences of the ICOM International Committee in Slovenia. It also promotes and supports the participation of Slovene museum professionals at general and annual conferences; it informs the Slovene public about its main goals and duties, and about changes within the international world of museums; and it works to develop the museum profession and the standards of museum work, while encouraging members to participate actively in specific international committees.